Schumer Reelected Senate Majority Leader

December 8, 2022

Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-NY) on Thursday was unanimously elected to another term as Senate Democratic Leader, as Democrats were poised to maintain their majority control of the chamber in the 118th Congress in 2023.

Senate Democrats met behind closed doors at the Capitol to choose their leadership team for the new Congress that begins in January. Schumer faced no challengers and according to reports, applause was quickly heard in the halls. 

Along with Schumer, Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL) was reelected Majority Whip, while Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) was elected the #3-ranked Democrat. 

Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) was nominated to be president pro-tempore; she’ll face a vote in the new year for the position. It would make Murray third in the line of succession to the White House, behind the Vice President and the Speaker of the House.

Democrats held onto the Senate Majority in the November 8 midterm elections thanks to Vice President Harris’ tie-breaking vote. This Tuesday’s runoff victory by Sen. Raphael Warnock (D-GA) boosted the party’s control in the chamber to 51 seats.

On the House side, Democrats unanimously elected Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) Minority Leader, putting the party’s leadership in both chambers in the hands of two lawmakers from the New York City borough of Brooklyn.

Read more exclusive news from Political IQ.



Get the featured stories in your email and don't miss out on important news.


AAA predicts busiest ever holiday travel season


AAA predicts busiest ever holiday travel season