Bipartisan Members Of Congress Pass ICC Sanctions Bill

June 5, 2024

On June 4, 2024, the House of Representatives voted to pass a bill introduced by Rep. Chip Roy (R-TX) and Rep. Brian Mast (R-FL), known as H.R.8282, or the Illegitimate Court Counteraction Act. The bill passed with a vote of 247-155, with two Republicans voting “present.” This bill aims to impose sanctions on the International Criminal Court (ICC) if it attempts to investigate, arrest, detain, or prosecute any protected person of the United States and its allies.

Rep. Roy, a member of the House Rules Committee, spoke in favor of the bill earlier on Tuesday from the House floor. He emphasized that the bill is not just about Israel but about protecting America’s interests. Roy also noted that the bill would bring a permanent change to the law to ensure that if the ICC targets Americans or their allies, sanctions would be imposed on the ICC.

The bill gained momentum when the ICC sought arrest warrants for Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, Defense Minister Yoav Gallant, and Hamas leader Yahya Sinwar. This move by the ICC was unprecedented, as it targeted sitting officials in Israel.

During a White House press briefing, National Security Communications Adviser John Kirby said that while the Biden administration opposes the ICC arrest warrants, they do not support the sanctions bill. House Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Michael McCaul (R-TX) also revealed that the White House initially supported the idea but then did a 180-degree turn.

Speaker Mike Johnson (R-LA) expressed his disappointment in the White House’s opposition to the bill, hoping that House Democrats would join Republicans in holding the ICC accountable for what he called “unconscionable” actions. Johnson also warned that the ICC could come after Americans.

Now the ball is in Schumer’s court, and if he tables, it’s all his fault.

The bill received support from several Democrats, including Reps. Brendan Boyle (PA), Yadira Caraveo (CO), Matt Cartwright (PA), Angie Craig (MN), Henry Cuellar (TX), Donald Davis (NC), Lois Frankel (FL), Ruben Gallego (AZ), Jared Golden (ME), Dan Goldman (NY), Vicente Gonzalez (TX), Josh Gottheimer (NJ), Steven Horsford (NV), Greg Landsman (OH), Susie Lee (NV), Mike Levin (CA), Kathy Manning (NC), Lucy McBath (GA), Grace Meng (NY), Jared Moskowitz (FL), Wiley Nickel (NC), Donald Norcross (NJ), Frank Pallone (NJ), Jimmy Panetta (CA), Chris Pappas (NH), Mary Peltola (AK), Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (WA), Scott Peters (CA), Dean Phillips (MN), Patrick Ryan (NY), Brad Schneider (IL), Kim Schrier (WA), David Scott (GA), Elissa Slotkin (MI), Darren Soto (FL), Greg Stanton (AZ), Tom Suozzi (NY), Shri Thanedar (MI), Ritchie Torres (NY), Juan Vargas (CA), Marc Veasey (TX), and Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL). Many of these members are pro-Israel Democrats and/or are considered more vulnerable ahead of the November elections.



Get the featured stories in your email and don't miss out on important news.


Women In Draft Proposal Ignites Debate


Women In Draft Proposal Ignites Debate